Proof # 6, come and gone… Grrr!

“Some succeed because they are destined to, but most succeed because they are determined to.” – Henry Van Dyke. One of the quotes which is included in the book "On Becoming a Lemonade Maker" by Tamara Kulish.Special Note from November 2015:

After struggling with pagination issues and getting Proof copies back with errors in 2014, early in 2015 I had finally decided to ditch uploading the Word document, and opted instead to upload a saved PDF of the manuscript.

Success! This is definitely the way to go when uploading to CreateSpace! All the text stayed exactly where I had positioned it, with no minute spacing changes which had created the pagination issues early on!

Now that I’ve finished writing the second edition and re-doing the look of the book with brand new formatting, as well as re-doing the cover, I’m very pleased with the finished results I received back!

A PDF of the manuscript is definitely the way to go!

This is also good news for the coloring books and the art journaling workbooks I’m creating! All the artwork will remain intact, and because it’s all black and white line-work, there won’t be additional costs for color printing! …Although when I create my photo books that will be something to consider.

May 22, 2014

Well, I’ll be moving on right past proof #6 and onto proof #7… Grrr!

Two reasons: 1) the front cover photo somehow became corrupted, and when I received my 5 proof copies, all had a 1/2″ lighter banding all across the bottom of the photo. 2) I received a gentle question today, asking why the title of the book was quite small, while my name was in large letters across the front?

Well, I was so set on trying to find a way to duplicate my original design, which is on the eBook version, that I chose a template where I was making compromises.

Hmmm… compromising isn’t always good when part of the design is lost, and the resulting image raises questions in people’s minds like: “Why WOULD your name be in large type, when you aren’t a well-known author? Wouldn’t it make more sense to have the title of the book in larger print?”. True. Good points.

So, I took another look at the cover templates and selected a different one. Yes, it will be different looking than the eBook version, but then maybe setting the paperback version apart will be a good thing? (Let me know your thoughts please! Hopefully you’ll be able to see the two side-by-side soon, and can let me know what you think?)

I like the look of the new paperback cover, it has a good feel to it, and the color palette goes well with the photo of the lemon tree (taken in a restaurant garden in Tucson, Arizona, for those who wish to know; not one of my artsy photos, but very usable for this purpose!)

So, now I’m waiting, again, for Create Space to approve the cover (I think they just check that it meet non-smut requirements??) so I can get their email letting me know that I can go back to their website to order proof copies.

That’ll make it proof #7, and hopefully number 7 will be the lucky charm!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Get my JUICY book now! Amazon

Follow me, and get more JUICINESS on WordPress, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Fine Art America, Twitter, and Goodreads!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

