Job Titles…Still Valuable?

“People may not always tell you how they feel about you, but they will always show you. Pay attention.” - nknown. One of the quotes which is included in the book "On Becoming a Lemonade Maker" by Tamara Kulish. I found this arrow spray painted onto pavement in a parking lot and fell in love with the colors!

I was very moved by the article I just read by Marianne Griebler, entitled, “Let’s Stop Using Job Titles”. Follow link here to her article:

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/article/20141003170325-161259660-let-s-stop-using-job-titles?loadAction=comment

You may agree or disagree with what she proposes in the above article, but too many of us still work for people and companies who still use traditional job titles.

I can only begin to imagine what the workforce would look like if job titles were done away with and instead the team name or department were put on a business card! …Or if salary were determined by the value a person brings to the company, and a pay scale where everyone has an opportunity for growth and improvement!

Until that Utopian time arrives within many companies, I have found out the hard way (from personal experience and observation) that a job title which doesn’t properly convey what a person actually does, (but is instead intended to serve as a barrier to paying them more), only serves as a lightening rod for rigid thinkers to perpetuate negative behavior patterns against colleagues.

This is the whispered underbelly of where limiting job titles take many people, and is a good argument for creating change!

In the mean time, I do find comfort in my most recent job title… I had wanted to make the transition back to Graphic Design for a long time, but have found that once one lands in a ‘pink collar’ position, it can be challenging to break free! (I’m not in any way bashing the office work I’ve done, or the work of many of my readers, but stating a truism as I’ve experienced it.)

I worked for years as an Illustrator, a Graphic Artist, a Private Art Teacher and as a Draftsman, and then re-invented myself as an Administrative Assistant even an Executive Assistant. I loved the challenge of re-inventing myself and the new work I was doing. Since I was an artist first and foremost, I kept my first love going in my spare time, but did yearn to be able to transition back to Illustration/Graphic Design.

Having gone from one completely different type of work to another (Illustrator and Graphic Artist to Administrative Assistant) and now transitioning back again (Graphic Artist), I have found it startling to see how differently people will react to me and treat me, based on their perceptions of my different job titles, and what those mean to them.

For example, when I was working as a draftsman in a male dominated industry, I was treated with respect for breaking barriers; and when I worked as a Fashion or Medical Illustrator people were intrigued, yet when I was forced to re-invent myself and become an Administrative Assistant to keep a roof over my family and food on the table due to many better paying jobs moving out of Quebec many years ago, I was perceived as dull, boring and insignificant to people I met. Strange isn’t it, since I had stayed the same person, just my job title had changed!

For now, since many people are still caught up in the boxes we make and love to thrust each other into, job titles can serve as our little ‘keep off the grass’ sign, though we all know the ultimate usefulness even of those signs!

We still live in a world where we struggle to give each other respect, and many still live in the Red Ocean – a feeding frenzy!

“I don’t get no Respect!” – Rodney  Dangerfield

I’m looking forward to learning more about the behind the scenes mechanisms of how a rigid thinking company goes from being very old-school, to the point of mistrusting people deeply, to transitioning to an open and supportive work environment, where all staff are seen as true contributing colleagues, and to be able to write about it and share it! *Smile!*

Click on images to see them on Fine Art America!

Are You a Red Ocean Thinker or a Blue Ocean Thinker? One of the quotes which is included in the book "On Becoming a Lemonade Maker" by Tamara Kulish. A close-up shot of a metal sculpture in Santa Fe, New Mexico, looks like an abstract underwater scene with the blue color palette and the refractions of light!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Get my JUICY book now! Amazon

Follow me, and get more JUICINESS on WordPress, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Fine Art America, Twitter, and Goodreads!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

#On Becoming a Lemonade Maker, #Tamara Kulish, #job titles, #employment, #employer, #support

 

2 thoughts on “Job Titles…Still Valuable?

Leave a Reply

