A is for Art for Animals by Artfully Framed #AtoZChallenge

I wasn’t sure what I would choose for the very first day, letter A of the A to Z Challenge, where we write a post each day and move through the alphabet!

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib
As a blogger for all things related to overcoming life’s challenges and healing from past hurts and damages, to help YOU become a Lemonade Maker, I was thinking of starting off with “Anger, Rage and Guilt… How These Emotions Derail Us”, but now that I’ve gotten a little inspiration, I think I’ll save that for a later post!

For the third year now I’m a participating artist who has donated small format 5″ X 7″ art pieces to an auction fundraiser, all organized by Artfully Framed in Poplar Bluff, Missouri. All the money raised will go for the local no-kill animal shelters “Animal Welfare Alliance”!

When I turned in three pieces this week, and it struck me that I need to kick off this whole A to Z Challenge with writing about this awesome cause! I’ve got a little alliteration going on here: art, animals, artfully, alliance… Well it sounds cool in my head!

So here they are… Artfully Framed will frame every single piece donated for this worthy cause, as part of the awesome community work they do! I can’t wait to see what they will look like after they’re framed!!

“Before, During and After the storm” are mini watercolors set in multimedia collage, which I then coated with Encaustic layers front and back! I’ve used pharmaceutical grade refined beeswax and the best quality Damar resin, melted together in a proprietary ratio to create a lasting finish!

img_3630
Before the Storm

During the Storm

 After the Storm

Animal shelters, and in particular no-kill animal shelters do a whole lot of good with very little, and they rely on each of us to keep going!

If you love these pieces and would like to bid on them, or any other artwork there, go check out the Facebook page! “Art for Animals” by Artfully Framed. The art auction hasn’t yet started … The opening Reception is April 8, so please follow the Facebook page to receive more notifications!

Even if you’re not from the area, I’m sure Barbara Pelton, the owner of Artfully Framed, will be happy to make arrangements with you to have it shipped out to you! (Of course, you’re going to have to add the shipping costs and any insurance you wish for it, to the bid price if you are the highest bidder!)

Here’s the website link to the shelter, Animal Welfare Alliance, for more information: http://awasemo.org/art-for-animals/

Thanks so much for stopping by!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Get my JUICY book now! Amazon

Follow me, and get more JUICINESS on WordPress, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Fine Art America, Twitter, and Goodreads!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

10 thoughts on “A is for Art for Animals by Artfully Framed #AtoZChallenge

    • Thanks Unishta! It is an adorable thing to do! I’ve really been enjoying participating in this! It’s really fun to watch the last minutes of the silent auction when people are scurrying around the room making higher and higher bids on the papers until the final bell goes off!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! Our dog is a rescue too, though not from a shelter… My daughter found him as a puppy abandoned outside a gas station on a subzero night!

      Liked by 1 person

      • We couldn’t understand it either! Well, we feel we were supposed to adopt him, since she never goes there for gas, but she felt a strong tug to stop in at that particular gas station! Good thing she did! Everyone else was ignoring the little shivering puppy, but she couldn’t just walk away no matter how she tried to!

        Like

    • Thank you Pascale! I’m happy you love them! I was mulling over a couple ideas but when I thought about Art for Animals, it seemed to flash with lights! So I followed the flashing lights!

      We had rescued a puppy a few months ago when he was abandoned outside a gas station on a subzero night. He never made it to the shelter but our previous dog long before him was chosen from the SPCA, so I guess we care! …a lot! Lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

