G – Gym memberships… No time? No money? No problem!

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

No Matter How Slow You Go, You Are Still Lapping Everybody On Th

Click on image to see it on Fine Art America!

No money for a gym membership? Can’t get to the gym in time before it closes? Can’t afford a babysitter to look after the kids while you go look after yourself?

Walking may be the best answer!

There are many parks where walking paths post the mileage so you can set challenges for yourself… Some even have stationary equipment where you can do sit-ups, modified push-ups etc.

Not having money myself for long stretches of time forced me to take walks…and now I’m grateful for that, because it gives me something no gym can: FRESH AIR!

Another bonus? My grand-kids now want to come with me on walks, giving us special time together!

This is the exercise I’ve turned to after having had a heart “incident” recently, which helps me rehabilitate my body!

Even after having been accustomed to walking, after this incident I felt I was starting all over from scratch! So, rather than pushing myself, I’ve been doing it super slowly and taking in deep breaths of lovely fresh air!

I’m now feeling stronger after having had a few slow sessions that I’m slowly increasing my speed and adding some easy and slow calisthenics!

I feel my old strength slowly returning! Yay!

How do you squeeze in time for walking when your schedule is packed and overloaded?

Here a few sneaky ways I’ve discovered and implemented in my own life:

  • Park further away from the door! Even a few extra steps from walking from the far side of the parking lot will add up!
  • Do a few extra laps around the aisles in the grocery store!
  • Go to big box stores when it’s raining or too cold to walk outside and do laps around the store! Lots of people do this!
  • Bring the kids to school earlier and sneak in a bit of walking before work!
  • If the bus isn’t coming for a while and you know you can walk to the next stop or two before it arrives, do it! Sometimes I’ve made it almost halfway on my trip before it came!
  • When the kids are in the playground, do laps around the play area… You can keep an eye on them and sneak in a little exercise!
  • Let the kids stay in the after school program a half hour extra and grab a little walking time for yourself!

I’m sure you’ll come up with a few sneaky tricks of your own once you read mine!

Please come back and share them here so many more people can benefit from your genius!

Peace and thanks,

Tamara

“Always believe something good will happen” – Unknown

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Get my JUICY book now! Amazon

Follow me, and get more JUICINESS on WordPress, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Fine Art America, Twitter, and Goodreads!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Click on any image to see it on Fine Art America!

You Don’t Have To Be Great To Start, But You Have To Start To

You Can’t Start The NEXT Chapter Of Your Life If You Keep Re-

The Tragedy of Life is Not Death But What We Let Die Inside of U

The Expert in Anything Was Once a Beginner

Strength Doesn’t Come From What You Can Do. It Comes From Over

Some Succeed Because They Are Destined To, But Most Succeed Beca

Only Put Off Tomorrow What You Are Willing To Die Having Left Un

Nothing Is Permanent In This World, Not Even Our Troubles

No One Can Make You Feel Inferior Without Your Consent

Life Has No Remote. You Have To Get Up And Change It Yourself

“If You Don’t Like The Road You’re Walking, Start Paving A

If It Doesn’t Challenge You, It Doesn’t Change You

Complete list from the 2016 A to Z Challenge:

A is for Art for Animals by Artfully Framed

B – Blue Ocean Thinking? What’s that?

C – Compass… Or more specifically, a Moral Compass!

D – Divide and Conquer… The Start of Racism

E – Endorsements… What DO we stand for?

F – Focus on our THOUGHTS and bridge the GAP between Religion and Non-Religion.

G – Gym memberships… No time? No money? No problem!

H – Healing + Art = Awesomeness!

I – Inspiration!

J – Joint Pain, Arthritis and RA… My Personal Tips!

K – Kindness!

L – Laughter, It’s About a Sense of Humor!

M- More Than Milk and Honey for Anxiety!

N – Note Writing and Making To-Do Lists… Here’s a NEW trick!

O – Overbooking Ourselves, and Kicking ourselves After!

P – The Power of Positive Words!

Q – Questioning our Life’s Missions!

R – Re-Blogging… Here’s a few of my favorites!

S – Sleep your way to success … A different take!

T – This Productivity Trick Will Make Your Snooze Button a Thing of the Past!

U – Understanding Strange Dreams!

V – Vocational Training for Free!

W – What CAN happen when someone doesn’t like us for no apparent reason!

X – XXX’ed Out! Mistakes and blame.

Y – You’re wrong about that!

Z – Zero Dollars!

#gym membership, #exercise, #walking

17 thoughts on “G – Gym memberships… No time? No money? No problem!

  1. It’s heartening to know that grannies can still find time for themselves…..I’m trying to work on that one but I agree that walking is the best workout ever and we should try to increase the steps we take in our lives to count 10,000 steps each day

    Liked by 1 person

    • BellyBytes, I’m encouraged that you’re trying to find time for yourself! I understand the dilemma! My daughter works and hour and a half away so she leaves a t dawn and comes home after 8 pm, which leaves the childcare and household duties up to me!

      On days where the youngest isn’t in preschool (half day) I don’t always get my walk in. After all a four year old can’t keep up! If the weather cooperates then I take her to the playground and walk small laps around the area where she’s playing… If it’s raining we might go to the store, and even off all I need is milk I’ll walk up and down all the aisles to get my walking in, while she sits in the shopping cart!

      A challenge is when I have all three on a rainy day and we go to the grocery store!

      I prefer getting in a solitary walk since it’s a good time to recharge my batteries but that’s not always possible!

      Wishing you the best with your walking routine!!

      Peace,
      Tamara

      Like

    • Sorry for the delayed thank you for reblogging! I must have accidentally deleted the email letting me know, and I rarely go to the master list of comments! I guess I should do that more often!

      Peace,
      Tamara

      Like

  2. Great idea for walking more. I love walking and alternate with months at the gym when Delhi gets too hot to walk outside unless you’re doing it early morning – which is when I have to get to work since I’m also a teacher. Good luck with the A to Z challenge and I hope your health issues get better soon.

    Like

    • I heard that Delhi gets stiffling in the heat, so a gym is a smart idea to avoid heat exhaustion! Thank you so much for your good thoughts! Wishing you all the best too with the AtoZ Challenge!

      Peace,
      Tamara

      Like

Leave a Reply

