J – Joint Pain, Arthritis and RA… My Personal Tips! #AtoZChallenge

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

I have joint pain in my wrists, elbows, hips and knees I have a degenerative condition in my knees which makes running impossible and climbing stairs sometimes painful.

Since I don’t have health insurance and using alternative therapies has helped me in the past, I decided to not only pay attention to information which was coming my way regarding the anti-inflammatory effects of certain herbs and foods, but to give it a try!

When I’m more stressed out or tired my body seems to produce more Cortisol which as I understand, is at the root of many inflammatory diseases and conditions.

Likewise, certain foods seem to act as triggers too… Those being alcohol, any type… Shellfish (shrimp etc.)

Gently exercise such as walking helps to a certain degree by helping to get my blood moving to remove the Cortisol and other byproducts from my body.

What have I tried in the way of herbs or supplements seems to help? I’ve heard a lot about turmeric, ginger, lemon, garlic, onion and frankincense as being wonderful in anti-inflammatory and immune system boosters.

When I take turmeric capsules I feel relief after a few days, and it continues as long as I take them.

How long do we need to take these supplements for? Well, as long as our bodies are producing Cortisol and other chemicals which hurt our joints, we need to counter those effects, so of course one needs to keep taking them since our bodies are very efficient at producing those chemicals!

What are the things which are working for me?

I have found information which shows that making a tea with some of the above components helps my joints and my immune system… So I’ve made tea with sliced organic lemons and sliced fresh ginger (which I freeze), to which I’ll add some raw honey. Sometimes I’ll break open the turmeric capsules (one or two) and mix it in. Apparently adding a few dashes of black pepper (for the capsicum) enhances the effects of the turmeric many times! It’s okay to eat the lemon pieces after they’ve soaked, rind and all! There’s apparently many more vitamins and micro-nutrients in the rind!

More recently I’ve been trying out frankincense water, which I make by adding a tablespoon of small frankincense tears (I ordered them online… The smaller pieces are less expensive since I’m not needing large pieces to burn for incense) to a glass jar of water which I place in a pan of water (a water bath) and boil it until the pieces dissolve, making the water milky whitish.

This method produces a more concentrated solution from the traditional way of preparing frankincense water, which is to pour boiling water over a few pieces in a glass jar.

I add a few teaspoons of this solution to juice or coffee to mask the strong flavor. I heard its best to start with a little bit to see how the body reacts to it. It’s only been a week since I’ve started using frankincense water.

Here’s a great blog site where you can get awesome info: Direct quote from: http://livingtraditionally.com/got-health-problems-drink-frankincense-water-make/

Frankincense is a fragrant plant resin that comes from the Boswelllia sacra tree found in Africa and the Arabian peninsula, including Yemen and Oman.  Frankincense possesses analgesic, anti-arthritic, antifungal, anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, antiseptic, astringent, carminative, digestive, diuretic, expectorant, sedative, tonic, vulnerary properties.

Scientists have found that there is some agent within frankincense which helps stop spreading of cancer. It induces cancerous cells to close themselves down. According to the latest studies,

“Cancer starts when the DNA code within the cell’s nucleus becomes corrupted. It seems frankincense has a re-set function. It can tell the cell what the right DNA code should be. “Frankincense separates the ‘brain’ of the cancerous cell – the nucleus – from the ‘body’ – the cytoplasm, and closes down the nucleus to stop it reproducing corrupted DNA codes.”]

The Apothecary’s Garden is also a wonderful source of information and a source to purchase various types of Frankincense resins: https://apothecarysgarden.com/
What are the positive effects I’m seeing with frankincense water?

Based on using Frankincense Olibatum gum, which is one of the multiple types available: Well, it’s only been a week, but an under skin rash I’ve had on my forearms has been reduced, the itching has lessened. My joints at feeling less inflamed and I feel I can push myself a little more with my walking.

I’m trying out different things to help my system. I like to switch things around, because frankly, I get tired of the same tastes all the time!!

Side note for RA: a friend who has severe and crippling RA has been using turmeric and pepper for the past few months has reported that he has a marked decrease in pain! That’s huge, when many of the medicines he’s on decimate his immune system, creating more symptoms!

So that’s my little take on using some of these natural remedies!!

I’ve just ordered some Boswellia Sacre Frankincense, so I’ll see if this helps the issue below which I’m dealing with!

I have some painful spots on my back which look exactly like the precancerous growths my second husband had, and I’ve heard that frankincense will go inside the affected cells to help the body to heal… So I have a few reasons to try these solutions and see how they’ll help me!

Peace and thanks,
Tamara

“Always believe something good will happen” – Unknown

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Get my JUICY book now! Amazon

Follow me, and get more JUICINESS on WordPress, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Fine Art America, Twitter, and Goodreads!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

greeting card Peace Written in the Trees 2

Complete list from the 2016 A to Z Challenge:

A is for Art for Animals by Artfully Framed

B – Blue Ocean Thinking? What’s that?

C – Compass… Or more specifically, a Moral Compass!

D – Divide and Conquer… The Start of Racism

E – Endorsements… What DO we stand for?

F – Focus on our THOUGHTS and bridge the GAP between Religion and Non-Religion.

G – Gym memberships… No time? No money? No problem!

H – Healing + Art = Awesomeness!

I – Inspiration!

J – Joint Pain, Arthritis and RA… My Personal Tips!

K – Kindness!

L – Laughter, It’s About a Sense of Humor!

M- More Than Milk and Honey for Anxiety!

N – Note Writing and Making To-Do Lists… Here’s a NEW trick!

O – Overbooking Ourselves, and Kicking ourselves After!

P – The Power of Positive Words!

Q – Questioning our Life’s Missions!

R – Re-Blogging… Here’s a few of my favorites!

S – Sleep your way to success … A different take!

T – This Productivity Trick Will Make Your Snooze Button a Thing of the Past!

U – Understanding Strange Dreams!

V – Vocational Training for Free!

W – What CAN happen when someone doesn’t like us for no apparent reason!

X – XXX’ed Out! Mistakes and blame.

Y – You’re wrong about that!

Z – Zero Dollars!

10 thoughts on “J – Joint Pain, Arthritis and RA… My Personal Tips! #AtoZChallenge

  1. Pingback: Cheryl’s Homemade Alphabet Soup ~ A Mixture Of Blogging From A-to-Z Posts (2016) | Plucking Of My Heartstrings

  2. I think it is wonderful that you are getting some relief from the natural therapies. I often wonder what would happen if I took a “honeymoon” from the RA meds I’m on. Whenever I start to wean, I flare with a vengeance (not pain meds, which I refuse to take, but the methotrexate and biologic meds). Please post updates on your experience, as I’m extremely interested in what may work. Wishing you the very best at being pain-free (or having less pain).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d never recommend anyone to completely remove themselves fro prescribed meds since our bodies become accustomed to them and our pain can be so much worse when quitting!

      If you try natural remedies, do so while on your meds! Let your doctor know so you can work together! The natural remedies take time to build up in the body (I believe) so it might take weeks for some people!

      You may be able to reduce some of your meds eventually, but definitely work with your doctor!! More and more doctors are becoming knowledgeable about alternative therapies and will help and encourage you through this process!

      I definitely will keep this post updated, as I progress through the weeks!

      Thanks for the encouragement and interest!

      Peace,
      Tamara

      Like

    • I’m having success with using the Frankincense Boswellia Sacre, but after I bought my first 2oz package on Amazon, it wasn’t in stock any longer! 😦

      I came across this recipe after listening to Enoch speak in the 9th Episode from The Truth About Cancer Series (https://go.thetruthaboutcancer.com/?a_aid=56ca11a65c659), where he spoke about healing his skin cancer! Here’s the link to Enoch’s recipe! http://www.enochdebus.com/kickum-juice/

      I Googled “Kickum Juice” and found his video!

      The PRIMARY INGREDIENTS are GINGER and HOT PEPPERS! He uses a few different types of hot peppers, and also adds ground Black Pepper to increase the efficiency of the other ingredients!

      As you may know, these ingredients have been written up about in many articles, their uses are great for improving the Immune System, decreasing Joint Pain and even in shutting down certain CANCERS!

      I’ve written a post about this in case you wish to share! https://onbecomingalemonademaker.wordpress.com/2016/04/21/kickum-juice-for-cancer-joint-pain-and-the-immune-system/

      Liked by 1 person

      • That is amazing information and I’m going to check it out. The “Kickum juice” sounds interesting! Thank you so much! P.S. I accidentally deleted one of your comments this morning (my fingers weren’t working yet, I was trying to comment back, and I got a big red notice that I trashed it–I couldn’t get it back!). I so appreciate this information (and your comments!). Take care, Dawn

        Liked by 1 person

      • *smile!* no problems! I’m glad this information might be of good use to you!

        I’m definitely searching for different natural remedies… I can’t always continue with a particular one for too long, so I rotate them so my taste buds don’t get so tired of them that my gag reflex gets involved!! Lol!

        Since joint pain isn’t the only issue I’m dealing with, I look for remedies which are more helpful across the board, and just share my findings!

        Hopefully something I share will benefit others too!

        Like

    • That’s a toughie for most of us… Mind over matter… Having so much faith that the pain disappears! I haven’t reached that personal state of Nirvana yet, so I need physical aids! Sigh. Perhaps I will one day, but I’m not there yet!

      Kudos on having reached that level yourself! I’d love to see a link to a post where you show us how it’s done! *smile!*

      Peace,
      Tamara

      Like

Leave a Reply

