N – Note Writing and Making To-Do Lists… Here’s a NEW trick! #AtoZChallenge

A2Z-BADGE 2016-smaller_zpslstazvib

Creating to-do lists… a productivity tool or a waste of time?

Most highly productive people rely heavily in lists or a system of Post-it Notes to keep track of many, many items which need doing.

If you’re like me and tend to misplace notes or don’t like the chore of writing everything down by hand, you may be happy to hear a new trick!

Here’s a new tip I’ve discovered which helps me turn those lists from dust collectors into powerful action  tools: I’LL EMAIL MYSELF!! (As I did with this article idea!) This system works best when each idea is in a separate email!

Most of my emails are ideas about writing, so I move all those emails into a folder “Ideas for Articles”, which I’ll work with regularly.You could create your own system of folders if you don’t wish to have them all randomly in your Inbox.

I’ll do a brain dump for each idea, not particularly worrying about flow, as long as I write out each point. When I come back to a particular subject I wish to write about, I just have to copy/paste the contents and massage and tweak it into the article I wish it to be! I find that many times my creative download is pretty comprehensive, so my articles are 75-90% pre-written!

Previously I had tried typing my ideas into the note taking app in my phone, but I couldn’t access them from my laptop when I was writing an article, so using my email as a note taking workhorse has really been working out well for me.

By moving the emails into a folder they don’t get lost in the sea of emails I receive, and I’ll have article, website or business ideas ready to draw from.

If you’re like me, you get your greatest ideas in the most inconvenient times, and don’t always carry a notebook or Post-its everywhere you go, but your phone is always with you!

If you haven’t tried using your email in this way, I highly recommend it! I hope you’ll be surprised with boosts in productivity and a decrease in stress!

Click on an image to see it on Fine Art America!

You Don’t Have To Be Great To Start, But You Have To Start To

There Seems To Be No Plan Because It Is All Plan

The Next Best Thing to Being Wise Oneself

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Get my JUICY book now! Amazon

Follow me, and get more JUICINESS on WordPress, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Fine Art America, Twitter, and Goodreads!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

Complete list from the 2016 A to Z Challenge:

A is for Art for Animals by Artfully Framed

B – Blue Ocean Thinking? What’s that?

C – Compass… Or more specifically, a Moral Compass!

D – Divide and Conquer… The Start of Racism

E – Endorsements… What DO we stand for?

F – Focus on our THOUGHTS and bridge the GAP between Religion and Non-Religion.

G – Gym memberships… No time? No money? No problem!

H – Healing + Art = Awesomeness!

I – Inspiration!

J – Joint Pain, Arthritis and RA… My Personal Tips!

K – Kindness!

L – Laughter, It’s About a Sense of Humor!

M- More Than Milk and Honey for Anxiety!

N – Note Writing and Making To-Do Lists… Here’s a NEW trick!

O – Overbooking Ourselves, and Kicking ourselves After!

P – The Power of Positive Words!

Q – Questioning our Life’s Missions!

R – Re-Blogging… Here’s a few of my favorites!

S – Sleep your way to success … A different take!

T – This Productivity Trick Will Make Your Snooze Button a Thing of the Past!

U – Understanding Strange Dreams!

V – Vocational Training for Free!

W – What CAN happen when someone doesn’t like us for no apparent reason!

X – XXX’ed Out! Mistakes and blame.

Y – You’re wrong about that!

Z – Zero Dollars!

#note taking, #productivity, #tips,

 

2 thoughts on “N – Note Writing and Making To-Do Lists… Here’s a NEW trick! #AtoZChallenge

  1. Wonderful suggestion! My husband and I also use Wunderlist (an app) because we both can add to the list and get an e-mail notice when we add something. But, since I’m forgetful, I also have to set an alarm for myself as a reminder to check the list. I really like the e-mail idea and having folders. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I used a note taking app and I’d keep forgetting about the notes I’d written, and hated having to retype them into an article. I’d end up copy/pasting them to an email to myself just so I could use it on my laptop, and then I had a flash of inspiration: why not do that right away! Save myself a couple of steps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

