Radical Acceptance

Radical acceptance! What a profoundly healing an freeing concept!

It’s tough getting to a point of acceptance sometimes isn’t it? We fight it, as though accepting that the things which happened to will hurt us more. The very act of acceptance, though difficult to achieve, actually liberates us. It gives us back our power and autonomy which was lost.

Radical acceptance will then free the heart and spirit on a deeper level.

I’m so happy to hear about this Radical level of acceptance this person has achieved!

Peace,
Tamara

Untangled

Before writing this post, I came across many definitions for radical acceptance. The one that resonated with me is from a Psychology Today article from Dec. 2013.

Radical Acceptance means completely and totally accepting something from the depths of your soul, with your heart and your mind. You stop fighting reality. When you stop fighting your suffer less.

Four weeks ago, after processing the last of some horrific events that happened to me, I looked at my therapist and exclaimed,” you know this is really just a piece of the pie.” He nodded his head in agreement as I went on to say, “even this little piece of the pie, could knock someone down for the rest of their lives, and in my situation, this is just one little piece of the whole pie.” I was really calm about the whole realization. I began to lock-in the pieces of the big…

View original post 726 more words

Leave a Reply

